top of page

Beautiful Bali with Kids

Keep reading if you are a cool parent

WHERE TO GO WHEN IN BALI...WITH KIDS

TURTLE CONSERVATION AND EDUCATION CENTRE

So another topic I googled endlessly for information on, was where the hell to take the kids that was fun, cultural and educational! Yes I am one of those parents.

We already had lots to do in the resort, swimming, water slides, exploring and all that cool stuff, but we like to get involved in BALI, you dig?

I am a very environmentally conscious mama, and as a family we love being do-gooders, investing our time in recycling, composting, creating DIY products that don't kill our magical flora and fauna, mediating and rubbing crystals on our chakra's when the moon is full and mercury is in fucking retrograde AGAIN, but all jokes aside ( I am actually not joking, I do all this, and more. Have you ever massaged your happiness meridian with lavender essential oil before bed? No, well we need to chat) I DO actually love doing culturally amazing and educational things with my kids, and who doesn't love a turtle! If you don't like turtles then please leave my page immediately.

Ok so our amazing friend Wan from Stunning Bali Tours (total legend by the way!) took us to visit the Turtle Conservation and Education Centre in Serangan.

The turtle conservation was part magical, part sad and part inspiring. Magical because we got to see tons of brand new baby turtles, and we were able to release two into the ocean and watch them swim off, praying to the universe that they live a long and happy life.

It was sad and frustrating to see so many hurt turtles, injured due to rubbish and environmental reasons, but wonderful to see how much they are loved and cared for. A huge majority of the older turtles there were being rehabilitated and will soon be released to the wild again. They were so beautiful and I was so inspired and touched by the kindness ( as I always am) of the Balinese.

We bought some badges and stickers and little gifts from the store to support the welfare of the turtles and donated some money. We were even given cute certificates for the boys with the names of the baby Turtles that we released on them. So cute!

Baby turtles!!

KIDS LOVE THE BEACH!

You can't go wrong with a trip to the beach, but when you come from Australia with her pristine beaches, and when you actually do live like 3 minutes from the beach, it was a shock at how different beaches are treated in other countries. So we decided to spend a few ours one of Bali's best beaches in Jimbaran. I loved the vibe here, with lovely ladies selling cold drinks and kooky snacks that Zed was obsessed with buying, and lounge chairs you can rent for like 50cents for two hours. Bargain!

There were young boys fishing in the water, the view was spectacular and the heat intense, but the boys played happily and we got to soak in some Indonesian good vibes, cause lets face it, Bali is all about good vibes. You can check on my other post on some serious spiritual time I was able to carve our for myself.

RESTAURANTS AND SHOPPING CENTRES.

Does this sound like hell to you? Taking your kids to eat out in public, or to walk around shopping centres while your kids whine for ice-cream? Or is this your kids nightmare? Being seen with parents, and being pulled along to look at boring ass grown up stuff.

I can relate. But for some reason Bali outings with the kids are just so much easier. I mean we still had complaining and the occasional melt down, but it was still more... how should I say...manageable. I would put this down to many things, I was more relaxed, the weather was blissful, my rules had relaxed, which meant ice cream was actually GOING TO HAPPEN! YES!

But also Bali has some cool shopping centres! And some really kids friendly restaurants. Do you research of what is around and then decide if you want to go to all the bother of going out, OR except the fact that holidays are the best time for room service and you can totally slob around in my underwear! DO it!!

We enjoyed Beachwalk shopping centre which had some cool stuff for kids, and a really rad lego store!

For where to stay and what to bring to Bali, check my other blog write ups.

bottom of page